Log in

No account? Create an account
Death - Queue — LiveJournal
September 15th, 2005
11:08 am


Previous Entry Share Next Entry
I'm enjoying Dead Like Me. I described the premise to magid after watching the first disc (which just had the pilot on it. Yes, it was an hour and thirteen minutes, but it was still just the pilot. The 2nd disc has 5 episodes, and the 3rd and 4th discs each have 4 episodes. Why not stick one one of the episodes from the 2nd disc onto the 1st disc?), and she said that it reminded her of a book, so she let me borrow On a Pale Horse by Piers Anthony, the first book of his Incarnations of Immortality series. It's been fun reading this book while watching Dead Like Me, getting two different takes on the same basic topic (and I have to keep the differences straight. For example, Death in the book is actually alive, since he killed the previous Death before he could be taken; the reapers in the TV show are actually dead, having assumed their position by being the last soul taken by another reaper).

I was close to finishing the book yesterday, so I picked up most of the rest of the series at the library (they didn't have Book 3 in, so I ordered it; bitty lent me Book 6). The first book was fun, and I'm looking forward to the rest of the series. Each book is about a different incarnation. Books 2-5 are about Time, Fate, War, and Nature, respectively. Judging by the titles, Books 6 and 7 are about the Devil and God, respectively. You don't actually find out until near the end of the first book that the Devil and God are actually just incarnations of evil and good, on the same level as the other incarnations. My speculation is that, through the course of the series, we'll find out something about what's above the incarnations.

Tags: , ,

(5 comments | Leave a comment)

[User Picture]
Date:September 15th, 2005 03:25 pm (UTC)
I read those books when they first came out. It's interesting to see how the series evolved. Originally, Anthony only meant for there to be five books, but as he wrote them, he realized he needed the final two to resolve everything the way he wanted.
Date:September 15th, 2005 04:06 pm (UTC)
I've read them as well. They are fun reading and something interesting to think about. It's always interesting to get the other sides perspective. You get to do that a lot in this series.
[User Picture]
Date:September 15th, 2005 04:28 pm (UTC)
I read them all in high school, though I never quite finished the very last one (about God). It was kind of rough since the subject matter (as described on the dust jackets) freaked out my Mom, and my classmates gave me crap about the cover art on the last one (featuring smoldering sexy girls).

I liked the Death one best but enjoyed all of them until the last one, which is also the sexiest one, and therefore too boring to finish for 15-year-old jmac.
[User Picture]
Date:September 15th, 2005 06:28 pm (UTC)
I've often seen "On A Pale Horse" described as "Piers Anthony's one good book". They were definitely better than his other stuff, and I still think the first is the best, but YMMV of course.
[User Picture]
Date:September 16th, 2005 03:11 pm (UTC)
The cool thing for me about those books is how they taught Point of View. In each book, the protagonist is always so unsure of himself or herself, whereas all the other characters seem to know exactly what they're doing. Good instruction on what Point of View means and how to use it.
My Website Powered by LiveJournal.com